Abia Governor inaugurates Civil Service Reform Committee

Governor Alex Otti has inaugurated the Abia State Civil Service Reform Committee with a charge for the committee to work with the goal of achieving the vision of the present administration.

Inaugurating the committee at the cabinet office, Umuahia, the State Governor, Dr. Alex Otti said he expects the committee to work closely with the Office of the Head of Service to get useful information to make the work easier.

The Governor, represented by the Secretary to the State Government, Prof. Kenneth Kalu charged the committee members to help actualize his dreams in achieving an efficient civil service and create a new Abia that would serve the need of everyone. He described the civil service as critical machinery the government needs to execute its policies and objectives.

Governor Otti, who assured that all necessary information would be provided by the Office of the Head of Service, said the over all aim is to create a civil service that would work. He urged them to discharge their duties excellently, adding that setting up of of the committee was not made against any individual but to create a better service that would be for the benefit of all.

The Terms of Reference given to the committee include; to review the current civil service structure with a view to improving the efficiency of the civil service, to review the process of appointment, promotion and dismissal and to make appropriate recommendations, to review the Command Promotions done from 2007 to date and to make appropriate recommendations, to recommend how to improve attendance and general discipline in the service, to examine how to address the issues concerning pensioners and to undertake every other review with a view to making recommendations on how to improve general efficiency

Responding, the Chairman of the Committee, Dr. Chibueze Ukaegbu and the acting Head of Service, Lady Joy Maduka thanked the Governor for choosing them to serve in the committee and promised to work assidously to ensure the aim of setting up the committee is achieved.

Other members of the committee include, the State Attorney General, Barr. Ikechukwu Uwanna, Commissioner for Science and Technology, Emmanuel Oriaku, Deputy Chief of Staff to the Governor, Chinedu Ekeke, Rev. Father Christian Anokwuru, Account General of the State, Njum Onyemanam, Mathew Ekwuribe, Dr. Sylvester Ibeneme, Chief Orisa lwundu and Chief Ogbonna Izima.

By: Uma Ibem
Head of Information
SSG’S office



First Bank

First Bank
Cool to share to any social media. Click preferred icon to share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *